New standards for IE classes for electric motors

On 1st July, 2021, the standards for IE classes for asynchronous electric motors were further tightened up. Therefore, it is important to know what is required of the electric motor for your application. At Fabrika, we offer electric motors that meet the latest standards for IE classes – and of course we also help you select the right motor for your application.

Energy efficient solutions are becoming more and more in focus and important in the industrial sector. The goal is to reduce CO2 emissions. For that reason, the standards for IE classes for electric motors will from 1st July, 2021 now be even higher. This is based on EU’s requirements for eco design.

From 1st July 2021, 3 phase electric motors used in the EU must therefore be at least IE3 ranging from 0,75 to 1000 kW. This applies to 2, 4 and 6 pole electric motors designed for continuous operation. And as something completely new, the rules now also apply to 8 pole motors as well. The supply voltage is up to 1000 V.

Energy class IE2 may be used for motors with an output of 0,12 to 0,55 kW, but is no longer sufficient for outputs of and higher than 0,75 kW in combination with a frequency converter, as was the case before 1st July 2021.

ATEX motors are also covered by the new standards

In addition to the industrial motors, the new rules, as something completely new, also include ATEX motors with the exception of ATEX class Ex eb, which is not allowed to be operated with a frequency converter. ATEX motors have not previously been subject to requirements for IE classes, but together with brake motors and motors cooled in air flow from e.g. a fan (TEAO motors) are now also in focus since 1st July 2021.

Exemptions from the latest EU regulation

Some motor types are still not subject to IE class requirements. This applies, for example, to single phase electric motors, ATEX motors type Ex eb for zone 1, motors without self-ventilation (TENV), two-speed motors, etc. The background for the requirements for eco design of electric motors is the EU Ecodesign Directive, which was published in 2013. In January 2017, updated rules came into force, and after the rules which applied from 1st July 2021, the next regulation follows 1st July 2023.

At Fabrika, we help you with the electric motor for your machine

Fabrika has for many years been specialized in electric motors, and therefore we are the right partner to contact when you are looking for a competent and flexible supplier who can offer you electric motors of the highest quality in all IE classes.

Contact us for a non-binding talk and hear more about how we can help you


IE stands for “International Efficiency”. The current IE classes are defined in EU Directive IEC 60034-30-1:

  • IE1 (Standard Efficiency)
  • IE2 (High Efficiency)
  • IE3 (Premium Efficiency)
  • IE4 (Super Premium Efficiency)



Graph of the new requirements for IE classes for electric motors, which are valid since 1st July 2021